Lien vers le Fleming 55 Lien vers le Fleming 65 Lien vers le Fleming 75

©2008 Fleming Yachts, Inc.
Tous droits réservés.

Points forts de la construction

« Dire que le bateau est bien conçu est un doux euphémisme. Il est exceptionnel. » - Sea Magazine

Coque en stratifié monolithique

Photo des entretoises de profilé en section

Les yachts Fleming sont dotés de coques en stratifié monolithique renforcé par une matrice entrecroisée de cadres et d'entretoises de profilé en section sur toute la longueur. Ce système raidisseur résistant crée une coque qui ne se déforme pas même en cas de contrainte dans des conditions très rudes. La construction en stratifié monolithique offre également une résistance supérieure aux impacts. Les résines d'ester vinylique de la meilleure qualité sont utilisées pour résister à la pénétration de l'eau et prévenir le cloquage.

Notez en particulier les commentaires envoyés au chantier par Tony Fleming lorsqu'il parcourt le monde sur son Fleming 65. Venture, coque no 1, a parcouru plus de 20 000 milles, ce qui a permis de perfectionner plusieurs points de conception sur les modèles de la nouvelle production, dont l'offre de moteurs diesel MAN de série sur les Fleming 65. Venture II, le tout nouveau Fleming 65 de Tony, a déjà rallié le Royaume-Uni à l'Allemagne ; il est en cours de préparation pour un voyage de l'Angleterre vers l'Écosse puis vers l'Islande. Grâce, en partie, à la vaste expérience de Tony en matière de navigation, Fleming a adopté un certain nombre de systèmes évolués qui améliorent les performances, mais aussi contribuent à la sécurité et à la fiabilité de chaque nouveau Fleming.

Pour abaisser au maximum le centre de gravité général (ce qui contribue à la stabilité du navire), l'âme des superstructures et du pont est en Core-Cell ultra léger. Ce matériau permet une liaison solide entre les stratifiés et ne se décompose pas.

Une quille pleine longueur

Aucun yacht ne devrait être choisi pour une navigation sérieuse sans que la coque et les systémes essentiels ne soient protégés d'un échouage accidentel. Tous les Yacht Fleming sont construits avec une quille pleine longueur qui se prolonge bien en-dessous des safrans et des hélices. Pour créer cette quille profonde, les Yacht Fleming sont construits à partir d'un moule en deux parties. Un sabot d'acier inoxydable sur la face inférieure de la quille offre une protection supplémentaire en cas d'échouage. La quille est remplie de mousse à alvéoles fermées et étanchéifiée puis isolée de la coque pour prévenir la pénétration de l'eau dans le cas rare d'un choc important.

photo de la quille et des supports

Jonction entre la coque et le pont

La jonction entre la coque et le pont est l'une des zones les plus sensibles de la construction d'un yacht parce qu'elle est particulièrement vulnérable aux contraintes, ce qui peut provoquer des fuites difficiles à repérer et à réparer. Fleming utilise un joint au niveau du pont et un autre au niveau du pavois, ce qui double la solidité et la protection.

Sur les plus de 200 yachts Fleming qui croisent dans le monde entier, aucune perte d'étanchéité n'a été signalée dans cette zone sensible, même en cas de mer très agitée.

Réservoirs de carburant en fibre de verre

photo de réservoir de carburant

Fleming fabrique maintenant manuellement ses propres réservoirs de carburant en fibre de verre, ce qui élimine les problèmes de corrosion ou de dessoudage. Les surfaces intérieures coulées sur des moules mâles sont en résines d'ester vynilique, alors que l'extérieur utilise une résine ignifugée. Les réservoirs comportent des cloisons en fibre de verre, des siphons moulés (ce qui permet de les vidanger) et des jauges visuelles appropriées.

Une fois les resevoirs terminés, ils sont vitrifiés dans la structure du navire de tous les côtés, et deviennent une partie intégrante du yacht et ajoute à la rigidité générale de la coque. Les réservoirs des modèles 65 et 75 couvrant la totalité du maître bau, ils font office de cloison de 91 cm d'épaisseur, et empêchent ainsi le bruit de la salle des machines d'atteindre les cabines.

Bruit et vibrations

Les yachts Fleming sont connus pour leur fonctionnement doux et silencieux. Tout d'abord, les entrées d'air de la salle des machines se trouvent sous l'hiloire du cockpit, loin de la cabine principale et de la timonerie. Cet emplacement contribue à limiter le bruit, et empêche aussi les embruns salés corrosif de pénétrer dans la salle des machines.

photo d'aquadrive

Dès les débuts, les yacht Fleming ont inclus d'origine un système antivibration AquaDrive. Ces systèmes transfèrent la poussée du propulseur directement à la coque et non au moteur. Les chaises de palier de butée sont boulonnées aux barres d'aciers pleine longueur encapsulées dans les longerons de moteur massif du navire, afin que la poussée du propulseur soit transmise à la coque. Ceci permet de monter le moteur sur des supports moteurs souples. Le moteur « flotte » virtuellement, ce qui limite la transmission des vibrations dans tout le navire.

Les générateurs utilisent une double fixation sur des supports antivibration qui sont boulonnés sur des plates-formes haute densité. Cette approche permet aussi d'obtenir un moteur « flottant », ce qui contribue au fonctionnement silencieux sans vibrations.

De plus, une grande attention a été portée à l'insonorisation de la salle des machines et à son isolation du reste du navire. Une insonorisation à base de plomb et de la mousse sont utilisées dans toute la salle des machines, et un beau matériau insonorisant en plaques est appliqué sur les surfaces planes, y compris sur les réservoirs de carburant. Un matériau composite de fibre de verre, spécialement fabriqué avec une texture alvéolaire est maintenant utilisé pour les planchers de cabine sur tous les Fleming, pour ajouter rigidité et isolation. Toutes les écoutilles de la salle des machines ont des joints en caoutchouc et sont encastrées hermétiquement.

Grace å toute l'attention portée à la réduction du bruit et des vibrations, les yachts Fleming sont connus dans le monde entier pour leur fonctionnement calme et silencieux.

Systèmes

Les yachts Fleming sont soumis à un processus d'évolution continu, et, au fil des années, des centaines d'améliorations et de mises à niveau ont été apportées aux systèmes électriques et mécaniques du navire. En fait, bien que la conception générale de la coque soit restée sensiblement la même, de nouveaux moteurs et systèmes annexes plus modernes ont permis à nos bateaux de conserver la première place en matière de technologie navale. Les moteurs diesel à injection directe à rampe commune peu gourmands en carburant sont installés de série. Les systèmes électriques élaborés assurent l'autonomie de nos bateaux dans le monde entier. Des systèmes de stabilisateurs fiables fournissent un tout nouveau niveau de confort en mer. Et des appareils ménagers modernes offrent tout le confort d'une maison.

Bien sûr, aucun de ces systèmes évolués ne peut contribuer à une navigation plus confortable et plus agréable s'il n'est pas fiable ; c'est pourquoi Fleming prend des mesures rigoureuses pour tester et évaluer les systèmes et équipements installés sur chaque modèle. Seuls des composants et des équipements de la meilleure qualité sont spécifiés et installés pour des années de service fiables et sans problèmes. Et avant que chaque yacht ne quitte notre site de production de Taïwan, tous les systèmes sont soigneusement testés pour vérifier qu'ils fonctionnent correctement et satisfont aux spécifications.

Des détails qui font la différence

À première vue, de nombreux yachts neufs peuvent sembler avoir été construits et conçus pour une navigation sérieuse. Mais une observation plus attentive permet de constater qu'ils ne sont pas construits selon les mêmes normes de qualité que les yachts Fleming. On y trouve rarement la même attention aux détails qui a fait des yachts Fleming « le fin du fin des yachts de plaisance ». Il est fort possible que les vendeurs d'autres marques proclament que leurs produits « sont semblables à des Fleming ». Bien qu'on puisse prendre cela pour un compliment, ils ont quand même tort. Le seul yacht « semblable à un Fleming » est un authentique Fleming.

Pour voir certains des détails raffinés qui font qu'un Fleming est ce qu'il est, cliquez ici et affichez la page « Galerie des détails ». Cliquez ensuite sur les images pour afficher une description plus détaillée.



Philosophie de la conception Points forts de la construction Entretien avec Tony Modèles Fleming Galerie de photos Visite virtuelle Brochures et vidéos Ressources
Notre histoire Notre site de fabrication Notre équipe Notre boutique Nous contacter
Les aventures de Tony Les propriétaires racontent Témoignages Photos de navigation Trucs et astuces
Venturer Magazine Articles du magazine Venture Actualités Calendrier des manifestations Site du propriétaire

Fleming Yachts

Home Our Yachts Contruction

Construction Highlights

"To say the boat is well engineered is a vast understatement. It is exceptional." - Sea Magazine

Solid Fiberglass Hulls

Photo of box-section stringers

Flemings feature hand laid-up, solid fiberglass hulls reinforced by an interlocking matrix of frames and full-length, box-section stringers. This robust stiffening system creates a hull that will not flex, even when under stress during severe conditions. Solid glass construction also provides superior impact resistance. The finest vinylester resins are used to resist water intrusion and prevent blistering.

Of special note is the feedback the yard gets from Tony Fleming as he cruises throughout the world on his Fleming 65. Venture, hull no.1, has been cruised over 48,000 miles, and as a result, several refinements and design details have been updated in the newer production models, including the offering of MAN diesel engines as standard on Fleming 65s. Venture II, Tony's other Fleming 65, cruised from the UK to Germany, and, the following year from Southampton to a circumnavigation of Iceland by way of Scotland and the Faroes. Thanks in part to Tony's extensive cruising experiences, Fleming has adopted a number of advanced systems which not only improve performance but contribute to the safety and reliability of each new Fleming.

To keep the overall center of gravity as low as possible (which contributes to the vessel's stability), the superstructure and decks are cored with weight-saving Core-Cell. This material allows for a strong bond between the laminate, and it is impervious to rot.

Full Length Keel

photo of keel and props

No yacht should be considered for serious cruising without the hull and running gear being protected from an accidental grounding. All Flemings are built with a full-length keel that extends well below the rudders and propellers. To create this deep keel, Flemings are built using a two-part mold. A stainless steel shoe on the underside of the keel is used for additional protection in case of a grounding. The keel is filled with closed cell foam and sealed off and isolated from the hull to prevent water intrusion in the rare case of a severe impact.

Hull to Deck Joints

The hull-to-deck joint is one of the most critical areas of yacht construction because it is especially vulnerable to stress, which can lead to leaks that are difficult to locate and repair. Fleming utilizes a joint at deck level and another one at the top of the bulwark, resulting in double strength and protection.

With over 290 Flemings cruising throughout the world, there has never been a reported instance of a hull losing its watertight integrity in this critical area, even when exposed to severe sea conditions.

Fiberglass Fuel Tanks

fg fuel tank

Today Fleming manufactures our own, handcrafted fiberglass fuel tanks, which eliminate the problems of corrosion or weld failures. Laid up over male molds, the interior surfaces feature vinylester resins, while the exteriors use a fire-retardant resin. The tanks contain fiberglass baffles, molded sumps (allowing them to be drained) and proper sight-gages.

After the tanks are completed, they are glassed into the vessel's structure on all sides, making them an integral part of the yacht and adding to the overall hull rigidity. Since the tanks in the 65 and 78 span the full beam at mid-ships, the tanks act as a three-foot-thick bulkhead, further minimizing engine room noise from reaching the living quarters.

Noise & Vibration

Flemings are known for their whisper quiet, smooth ride. To begin with, the engine room air intakes are located under the cockpit coaming, away from the main cabin and pilothouse. This location not only helps to reduce noise, but it eliminates corrosive salt spray from entering the engine room.

aquadrive photo

We still use the Aquadrive system on the Fleming 78, but the Fleming 55, 58 and 65 are now fitted, as standard, with the Seatorque Bolt on Shaft System (BOSS). This is a totally enclosed, oil filled, self-contained, shaft and thrust bearing assembly. It achieves the same thing as the Aquadrive, in that the thrust is transferred from the propeller directly onto the hull rather than through the engines, but has the added benefit of the propeller shaft being enclosed thus reducing the drag, and increasing propeller efficiency. It also eliminates the need for a stuffing box and cutless bearings. These systems transfer the thrust from the propeller directly to the hull, not the engine. Thrust bearing brackets are bolted to full-length steel bars encapsulated in the vessel's massive engine stringers, so the propeller's thrust is transmitted to the hull. This allows the engine to be mounted on soft engine-mounts. The engine is virtually "floating," thereby reducing its vibration from being transmitted throughout the vessel.

The gensets are double-mounted on anti-vibration mounts, which are bolted to highly dense platforms. This approach also results in a "floating" engine, which contributes to whisper quiet, vibration free operation.

Additionally, great attention has been given to soundproofing the engine room and insulating it from the rest of the vessel. Lead-based sound insulation and foam are utilized throughout the engine room, and an attractive soundboard material is used on flat surfaces, including fuel tanks. A specially fabricated, fiberglass composite cabin sole is now used on all Flemings that features honeycomb construction for additional stiffness and insulation. All engine room hatches utilize rubber gaskets and are clamped down tight.

As a result of all this focus on reducing noise and vibration, Flemings are known the world over for their whisper quiet, smooth operation.

Systems

Flemings undergo a continuous process of evolution, and over the years there have been hundreds of improvements and upgrades to the vessel's electrical and mechanical systems. Indeed, while the overall hull design has remained essentially the same, new, more modern engines and accessory systems have kept our boats at the forefront of marine technology. Fuel-efficient, common rail diesel engines are standard. Sophisticated electrical systems make our boats self-sufficient in any part of the world. Dependable stabilizer systems deliver a new level of comfort at sea. And modern galley appliances offer all the comforts of home.

Of course, none of these advanced systems contribute to more comfortable, enjoyable cruising if they cannot be relied upon, so Fleming takes painstaking measures to test and evaluate the systems and equipment featured on each model. Only the highest quality components and equipment are specified and installed for years of reliable, trouble-free service. And before each yacht leaves our production facility in Taiwan, all systems are thoroughly tested to ensure they are operating properly and meet specifications.

Details That Make The Difference

At first glance many new yachts may look as if they are well built and designed for serious cruising. But it often takes a closer look to see that they are not built to the same high standards as Flemings. And rarely do they demonstrate the same level of attention to detail that have made Flemings "The Ultimate Cruising Yacht." Indeed, you may hear salesmen of other brands claiming their products are "just like a Fleming." While these comments are complimentary, they are nonetheless false. The only yacht "like a Fleming" is an authentic Fleming.

To see some of the finer details that make a Fleming a Fleming, please click here and go to our "Details Gallery." The click on the individual images for a more detailed description.